We Are Family: Ninth Annual Youth Exhibition

through Feb 1
11 Oct, 2014 - 1 Feb, 2015

The Museum of Photographic Arts invited students in grades K-12 across San Diego County to enter lens-based artwork in its Annual Juried Youth Exhibition. This year, participants share what family means in the ninth installment. We Are Family explores the relationships, traditions and emotions of family through photography. View more than 80 student works alongside a selection of complementary standout works from MOPA’s permanent collection.

The photographs in We Are Family were selected by a jury panel, including teaching artist Sarah Reece-Cusey, local photographer and filmmaker Jo Kamimura, photographer and Grossmont College Professor Suda House, and MOPA’s Executive Director Deborah Klochko.

We Are Family is made possible by the generous support of Laura Galinson.


In addition, 23 works from We Are Family will be on view at these extension sites: 

Civic Center Branch 
Chula Vista Public Library
365 F St.
Chula Vista, CA 91910
North Park Library
3795 31st St.
San Diego, CA 92104

Congratulations to the student artists selected to be part of MOPA’s Ninth Annual Youth Exhibition, We Are Family!

Trevor Appel
Bailey Avila
James  Baker
Evan Ballow
Ryan Bell
Kasey Boyd
Shannon Brewer
Andrew Cahill
Isabella Carrillo
Mia Cervantes
Kyra Compton
Tyra Crawford
Olivia Fidler
Rebecca Fietze
Levi Gage
Kate Glancy
Isaac Gray
Natalie Greenberg
Gabriel Gross-Sable
Annette Gulsado
Caroline Harari
Olivia Harris
Lily Horne
Maya Janaswamy
Avery Jones
Kendra Kershaw
Grayson Lang
Jonathan Lemberg
Hannah Lettington
Kate Liang
Andrea Liptak
Vivien Liu
Athena Malcolm
Jacob Mandel
Arline Martinez
Logan Masse-Brown
Alexandra McCally
Charlie Michael
Erin Morrison
Jonas Munson
Ella Murray
Shaam Nobel
Kaitlyn Pfeil
Jocelyn Pratt
Mark Pratt
Pierce Putnam
Wolf Recht
Atiana Romain
Caroline Sanborn
Katherine Schlegel
Sharni Smith
Bradley Sommer
Sarah Stone
Chrystal Lyn R. Tabora
Keaton Tracy
Kaz Veitas
Stephanie Ward
Anna Wilson
Gabriel Wilson
Caroline Wohl
Ansel Yaley
Maryann Zhao
Parker Zimmerman


The following students’ photographs will be on a monitor display at MOPA as well as the two library extension sites:

Mia Cipranic
Haley Cloyd
Taylor Cole
Skyler Crook
Jacob Dadman
Gabby Faramarzi
Ivy Foy
Collette Hall
Grace Lemersal
Jaiden Manning
Kaela Marriott
Wayne McQuen
Emma Moore
Maggie Oswald
Diego Pfeiffer
Jona Plevin
Jessica Samuels
Shannon Sellers
Madhvi Shah
Tyler Skillings
Ashton Tran
Venya Vaddi
Vincent Vitale